ODAT February 17, 2017 ~ Changes ~

One Day At A Time

~ CHANGES ~

They always say time changes things,
but you actually have to change them yourself.
Andy Warhol

Time changes things – but what things? Can I wait for time to change those ways of coping that don’t serve me anymore? Can I wait for time to make me abstinent?

Yes, time will change things, but chances are that these will be the changes: my coping mechanisms will become even more entrenched and my eating even more destructive. I don’t really want to wait for that kind of change. When I joined OA, I started a new trend. I asked for the wisdom to understand which things I can change and then, armed with the tools of the program, I set about following my new trend of eating healthy and living a life where I don’t sit around waiting.

I will not wait idly for things to get better. I will ask my Higher Power to guide me to make necessary changes.

One Day at a Time . . .
I will not wait idly for things to get better. I will ask my Higher Power to guide me to make necessary changes.
~ Isabella M. ~

Alleged insight:

The only constant in the chaotic life is change.  Children grow, people age, wood rots, paint fades, tides cycle, the earth revolves, the sun burns up (slowly), and oceans and continents move.  Everything changes, from the particles that make up everything, to everything made up of energy and particles.

Right, ironic, now my mind has changed and shifted, time has passed and now I wonder where I was going with this?

Right, change is constant.  I love that line.  But seriously, tomorrow is going to be completely different than today, and likely as different as possible as can be imagined from what you may plan.  I’ve started to come to the realization that there may be more truth to the Chaos series of novels than I thought when I read them back when I was like 12.    Life is a series of  small changes, one day at a time.  When you go to bed tonight, take a moment, look at what you accomplished, what went wrong, and how you want tomorrow to proceed.

When you wake in the morning, take a moment, thank God for another day, and proceed with intention to make the small changes that will stay changed, for the better, for you and your life and your family.

I got preachy, sorry.  I’ll get back to work here now.

Duke of Chaos

Footnote:
Standard Disclaimer: the text-reminder-and quote- herein comes from the book or website as noted at this link HERE. If you want to verify, look up your local AA or Al-Anon group.
But seriously, the work works if you work it. I’m doing this for me, for my wife, for our family and for our future.
By posting this material each day, I hope to hold the ideals in my awareness, and start with the small steps that make a big journey. ODAT is the slogan, and with God as my wing-man there’s a fair chance of surviving this adventure, for a while anyhow.
I am merely a tool in God’s toolbox.
Leave a Reply

