ODAT February 12, 2017 ~ Positive Thinking ~

One Day At A Time

~ POSITIVE THINKING ~

“We could accomplish many more things
if we did not think of them as impossible”
Jean-Jacques Rousseau
from his “Lettres à M. de Malesherbes

I have spent a lifetime dieting. My life can be easily separated into two sections: the dieting periods and the non-dieting, or binge periods. When I first start losing weight, I am positive about it, to the point where, if I go clothes shopping, I even buy things in smaller sizes because soon I won’t be as big as I am. This works fine while I’m losing weight, but when I reach a plateau and remain at the same weight level for a while, or even worse, gain a bit, I start to think that I’ll never lose the weight I need to lose, that my sticking to a “diet” for the rest of my life is nigh to impossible.

Well, with stinking thinking like this, I’m defeated before I’ve even started. Through this program, I’ve learned that anything is possible. First of all, it’s true that sticking to a diet for the rest of my life would be an impossible feat, but in program we don’t “go on diets.” We follow a sensible eating plan, and this plan should be flexible enough that it IS something we can follow indefinitely. Secondly, I have to correct my time spans. Instead of thinking of it as “the rest of my life,” I have the option to think of it as “One Day at a Time,” and we can do anything for just one day, can’t we?

One day at a time …
I remember that’s all it takes…one day at a time.
Marjee

Alleged Insight:

Oh this one will be fun, and difficult, not in the happy sense of fun either, more of the long drawn out painful sense of fun.  This is tomorrow already, give you any idea of the nature of fun?

The idea is to think positive, find the upside of things in each difficult situation, and then build on it.

I need to calm down, I need to learn to not take it personally.  I need to learn how to do five hours of work in one, and to not stress about it at all while getting it done.

Rather than keeping on in a negative vein, here’s Monty Python…

So, one day at a time,

Cheers and DFTBA.

Duke of Chaos

Footnote:
Standard Disclaimer: the text-reminder-and quote- herein comes from the book or website as noted at this link HERE. If you want to verify, look up your local AA or Al-Anon group.
But seriously, the work works if you work it. I’m doing this for me, for my wife, for our family and for our future.
By posting this material each day, I hope to hold the ideals in my awareness, and start with the small steps that make a big journey. ODAT is the slogan, and with God as my wing-man there’s a fair chance of surviving this adventure, for a while anyhow.
I am merely a tool in God’s toolbox.
Leave a Reply

